archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Ohana Means Family
Mirrormask is finally getting released in Singapore! I'm excited to watch it again, on the big screen this time. Daddy dearest is thinking of going to watch sneaks tomorrow. It pays to have a cool dad who reads Neil Gaiman. Anyway, in case anyone was wondering, 20th April 2006 is the day to look forward to.

And and and I finally got around to watching Take The Lead today! I think I've fallen in love with the Waltz all over again. There's just something about the emotion, music, form.. poise, yet fluidity of motion coming together so seamlessly that makes the dance so beautiful to watch. It didn't fail to make me smile despite all the negative emotions I now associate with ballroom dance.

Giving up on something I've wanted to do for years because of things that happened in a short span of less than two months seems too easy; meaningless, even. But I've pretty much decided to shelve my plans until someone who is both willing and isn't too stuck up to dance with me because I'm too short and/or inexperienced comes along. Hopefully, that'll happen in this lifetime. Call it intuition if you will, but I think dance is something I would love to share with someone I care deeply about.

Anyway, romantic ideals aside, Kyle asked me about my MSN nick today. It said something like, "yay! i love my parents! :)"

He asked me what they did to deserve that. I thought about it and realised that it was nothing short of anything they've been doing for the last 18 odd years of my life.

Despite what I sometimes say to the contrary, family is something that has always been very important to me. Suppose I ought to count my blessings for parents who support me in the things I do. They might not always approve of it, but they've never expected me to be anything but who I am.

Being in the kind of sheltered school environment where everyone excelled academically was not always easy. It didn't help that it seemed to me like I always had peers who scored much better than my (sometimes less than) mediocre grades. It helped even less to be the younger sister of an overachiever. I'm glad my parents never pushed me to be that. I have no doubt that if they had, life would've been unspeakably painful.

Of course, they do sometimes nag me into oblivion, may be somewhat dysfunctional and we have our fights, but when it comes down to it, I know they love and accept me wholeheartedly and they want nothing but good things for me.

Sometimes, that's enough to get one through a tough day.

Mom, Dad & Wai: If you ever do read this, I just wanted you to know that I love you.. Even though I seldom say it.

Ahh.. The wonders of technology, huh? :)

Love, Wan
8:52 pm//Friday, Apr. 14, 2006

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008