archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Jade & Gold
Sometimes I wonder if the reason we exist is merely to mess up our own lives. How screwed up is that?

Anyway, finally met up with the FTPSS people today about the theatre outreach programme. The teacher heading the programme over there is a certain Mrs Joanne Tan. She's brilliant, fun, dynamic, vocal.. I think I'm starting to understand why Shah speaks so highly of her; and I think I would've loved having her as an english teacher. She just happens to be an ex-scgs girl too. Pretty nifty coincidence, I think.

"..to become capable women of character and relevance", I remember how Ms Heng, the Empress Dowager, used to say the school's vision is. Well, I think they certainly did a wonderful job with Joanne.

Shah told me that she was probably the reason he is so vocal while we were walking to the bustop after the meeting. That made me smile.

Guess it's always especially nice to see someone from the same alma mater out there doing something good with their lives and enjoying it too. I actually got hit by a momentary wave of sudden nostalgia. As far as school is concerned, things like that don't happen to me very often.

Maybe I'm getting old and sentimental, or perhaps under all the apparent apathy, there's a part of me that's proud to be an scgs girl.

Think the meeting went very well. We now have an idea of what this whole mentorship thing means, what we would want to see come out of it and how we are going to go about making it a reality.

Everyone involved has high hopes for this to work out, but if it doesn't this year, there'll be other years. I've always believed in the necessity of hope. Sure, it can be mighty disappointing. But without hope life would be dull and depressing because you wouldn't have anything to look forward to.. Life would be truely and utterly pointless.

Hrm, I guess it's just a matter of being selective about the things you choose to put your hope in.

Love, Wan
12:44 am//Friday, Apr. 14, 2006

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008