archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
The Ides of March was Here!

If you have tears, prepare to shed them now.

And so the Ides of March hath come and gone. It seems the long journey has paid off. Although it would have been nice to be able to watch it as a member of the audience, watching it unfold backstage amid some technical screw ups made me think about how far we have all come, and regardless, at the end of the day, the audience seemed to have enjoyed the show.

I view all this with some rather mixed emotions- while on one hand, I'm relieved it's over and glad that all my time, effort and the tears I've cried over this production haven't gone to waste, on the other I'd hoped it wouldn't end. Alas, all that's left now are the photographs, memories, props, costumes, some leftover programme scrolls, some roses that I had hastily left on the dining table that have somehow ended up in a vase on my table and of course, the many valuable lessons I've learnt along the way.

I still haven't cried over this, and somehow, that feels very odd. Watching everything leave the convention centre yesterday night finally brought home the message that the production has finally drawn to a close, which caused some tears to fall. Yes, I felt the sadness and nonstalgia, but somehow the tears just weren't there. Perhaps I really have spent too many tears on the the production.

For me to go into details about the days leading up to the musical would be impossible. Besides, I wouldn't even know where to start. It would suffice to say that there was much chaos, mayhem, tears and quite a bit of laughter. Oh, and coffee. Yes Lucius, more coffee please! Heh.

Here are some pictures. Sadly, in my scatterbrained state leading up to the production, I kept forgetting to take pictures. Perhaps I'll post more pictures when I get them.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
The programme booklet/scroll

the soldiers getting dressed.

Qamah posing for the camera.

The huge mess that was the dressing room during thursday's full run.

Tab and Joel in their tunics, Lucius in the background. (Taken on Friday morning.)

People helping to get the humongous eagle backdrop up on the scenery bar that cannot be lowered, hence the huge scaffold in the background

The show:

The majestic eagle; SPQR stands for "Senatus Populus Que Romanus" which translates into something like senate and the people of Rome

Don't go to the senate today, Caesar!

"I admit, I'm scared within, for I am but a man.."

"Most high, most mighty, most powerful Caesar! I throw before you my humble heart." (Guys, stop teasing Joel about his lisp!)

The speeches

"If you traitors dare to fight today, come to the battlefield. If not, then come when you have the stomach for it."

The finale song

Another shot of the finale song

Everyone in the finale song

Thanks to all who have made this more than just another dream. Indeed, I'm going to miss everybody. From this day on, the convention center will always have a special place in my heart and not be just another pretty glass building. Here we have it..

The Ides of March, The Ides of March was here!

Love, Wan
7:35 pm//Monday, Aug. 21, 2005

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008