archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Elitism
Sadly enough, talking to my aunt always reinforces my view on the shallowness of the majority of Poly students here. Sometimes in my frustration, I blurt out my personal opinion and get chided by Joy (in her own sweet way, of course) about saying things like that.

Uh.. Joy, you might want to stop reading here because some part of this entry might make you start vomitting blood.

Some may say I'm being elitist - a word that is getting so overused these days that it's simply lost it's pinch. Just because I come from one of the so-called "elite schools" (like it's my fault), I'm not allowed to comment on the subject because it's taboo to do so but someone from a supposed neighbourhood school can without getting judged. How ridiculous is that?

Then again, I know a fellow Poly coursemate who comments about things like that on her blog and gets called honest and brave. Well... to be honest, she comes across as somewhat bitchy and flaky at times despite her academic success, eloquence and bravado about speaking her mind.

To me, there's a thin line between being honest and being a bitch. That's where tact comes into the picture. I'm also not known to be someone to be tolerant of people who live in their own little airy fairy, impractical world. I suppose that's just me though.

On a side note, rightly pointed out by Gayle Goh, the Ministry of Education has a poster about the ease of admitting returning Singaporean children into local schools that features "ten year olds, already dressed in the garb of four of the most elite schools in the nation, and together they form the face of Singaporean schools. Nanyang Girls, Raffles Girls, ACS and SCGS: our hope and our joy."

What strange people they are over at MOE.

Love, Wan
8:15 pm//Saturday, May. 27, 2006

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008