archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Food Blog, Anyone?
So I've been toying with the idea of starting a food blog, but I've just never gotten around to doing it. I got so bored today, I decided I'd give it a shot.

The parents and I ended up at IMM because we didn't feel like venturing too far from home. We eventually found ourselves at Wan Chai Hong Kong Tea Room (#03-99), located outside Daiso.

The wait staff were very brisk and efficient. Like one of those Hong Kong dim sum places that focus their energies on good food and a high table turnover rate.

On the menu were the usual suspects like Shui Gau (shrimp dumpling), Wanton (meat and shrimp dumpling), Har Cheong Gai (fried shrimp paste coated chicken), Milk Tea.. and desserts like Sesame Paste, Pak Gor Fu Chok (gingko nuts with tofu skin). Also on the menu were some fusion dishes like the baked rice with pork chop.

But we decided to stick to the more traditional dishes and ended up ordering a glass of iced milk tea, the shrimp dumpling noodle, wanton mee, prawn paste chicken and their signature fried rice.


With it's generous helping of vanilla ice cream, the milk tea was more like a float. Interesting concept, and tasted really good too!


Andddd, the shrimp paste chicken finally came! Was really piping hot and freshly fried. I'm not really a fan of fried chicken, and I always feel that the Har Cheong Gai from the coffee shops are a tad too dry. But this plate, was superb! The chicken is fried just right- the skin was crispy and the meat very juicy and tender. Really very yummy (and a little bit sinful too).

And if you look closely, the chicken is yellowish. At first, I thought it was just from the seasoning, but if you look under the skin, the fat of the chicken is yellow! (It's a little bit gross at first sight, really.) According to dad, it's a Cantonese thing. Apparently, the Cantonese prefer chicken with yellow fat over normal chicken. No real idea why, though.


After the chicken, came the Wanton Mee I ordered. I had high hopes of it, being at a Hong Kong style cafe and all.. But it was really quite disappointing. The noodles were too soft and so was the Wanton skin. However, the Wanton was chock full of lean meat (and we all know how picky I am about my meat) and very fresh shrimp!

Oh, and Because I was too busy eating, I forgot to take pictures of the Shrimp Dumpling Noodles! But dad said the noodles were the wrong texture as well. But the dumplings were detectable- containing a couple of mouthfuls of crisp, fresh prawn. Yummm.


The fried rice was was pretty average, really. Nothing much to say about it.

Dinner for three came up to about $30 which isn't bad at all.

Overall, a good place for a quick bite. I would go back for the dumplings (one of their specialties, perhaps?) as well as the milk tea. And to satisfy my fried chicken cravings every once in a while.

Love, Wan
9:41 pm//Tuesday, Jun. 26, 2007

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008