archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Happy Daddy's Day!
Mom's off to china for a week. The house is a bit quite with mom and sis gone. But it's quite apt that I got to spend some time with daddy dearest the day before father's day. It made me realize something that's taken me 20 years to realize - I really enjoy talking to my dad.

On hindsight, I've always enjoyed talking to my dad. I can talk to him for hours on end... effortlessly. Because of this, sometimes, I share my problems with him that I don't really tell my mom, and she gets all upset because I don't tell her things. I remember when I was a kid, my dad was always the one who picked me up from my various tuition classes.. usually Chinese (Heh.), and on the drive home, we'd talk about anything and everything. I've found in recent years that my aunt is also someone who's very nice to talk to. I can go on and on about life, school, people, current affairs.. and whatever else strikes my fancy. In a sense, they really engage me and are genuinely interested in the things I have to say.. Unlike, say, my mom.

It's a really nice feeling to be able to talk to someone like that, especially since there aren't many people I can reaaaallllly talk to. Here, I'm talking about effortless talking. Maybe alot of the time, I just don't have a desire to talk to people. Most of the time, I find it takes alot of effort to hold a decent conversation with someone, especially someone I don't know well. D has a theory about this: it's because I don't actually talk to these people (who I can talk to, and enjoy talking to) very often.. which is true some of the time, but not all.

And my dad has a theory about the whole talking thing. He says that the people you can really talk to are your potential life partners. The reason behind it actually makes sense - communication is a major part any strong relationship. Hrm.. Food for thought, really.

Until next time, D says "Sick. *cough cough*".

Love, Wan
10:25 am//Sunday, Jun. 17, 2007

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008