archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Life and Death
"So are you doing anything special for Mother's day?"
"Um.. My uncle's funeral is on Sunday. Does that count?"

:/

And so it goes, another life has come full circle. For those of you who don't know, my uncle passed away yesterday at around 5.30pm.

"I find myself wondering about humanity. Their attitude to my sister's gift is so strange. Why do they fear the sunless lands? It is as natural to die as it is to be born. But they fear her. Dread her. Feebly they attempt to placate her."

Just back from the wake. No, we weren't close. I guess it makes it that much less painful.

So my nephew has a girlfriend, which caused some degree of excitement. It's all a little bit weird, if you ask me. Then again, he's like 25 or 26 (I lost count) and an Architect, pretty cool. My other nephew is still being the strange quiet person he is. Apparently, he's managed to get a scholarship that fully funds his undergraduate studies. Computer Science.. at NUS I presume.

And then, there are my nieces, Vera and Myndi. They are a wacky duo. And Myndi, who's 6, draws really well. I taught them to shell peanuts without biting the shell to a gazillion pieces. Wonderful.


Myndi, the cheeky little 'un.

Always thought it was funny how it takes something like death to bring people closer together.

Love, Wan
10:19 pm//Thursday, May. 11, 2006

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008