archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Crawling Out Of That Deep, Dark Hole

I found myself at the Esplanade today. Not much has changed in the week I haven't been there. It was a strong reminder that the world exists outside of myself. Suppose it showed me that the world goes on despite personal struggles. Not unlike how the sun goes on shining and the birds go on singing in that Skeeter Davis song, just much more concrete than anything we take for granted will ever seem.

Today's meeting with Grace, a public affairs person at singapore's biggest, most prestigious and well-known platform for the performing arts was inspiring to say the least. We talked about backstage tours and talks by professional technical personnel in the field of theatre for the club. I left feeling psyched and encouraged- things I haven't felt in a couple of weeks. It's nice to have a part of my life go smoothly.

Suppose the world doesn't stop to watch one mope about either. Take opportunities and run with them, you never know what you might find and all that. Sure, there are times when it just comes back to bite you in the butt. These times are no fun at all, but we learn, and life goes on.

When times are bad, friends are the most important things to have. These people have made my weekend a whole lot more bearable, i think. Saturday was spent at Joy's place. Just hung out with Joy and Joey. Was supposed to be the whole gang, but Andrew had an emergency come up at home and Lina was working. We had fun nonetheless. Talked about things, played scrabble, watched Joy and Joey take turns at the piano. Here's a short video clip to give you some idea. Rather hilarious, actually.

And it seems Joey is serious about writing that song about autistic children. He already has an introduction to the piece. Honestly, it sounds really good. Take a look!

I admire Joey for his perseverance and determination to do the things he believes in. I respect him for the sort of person he turned out to be despite all the problems he faced growing up. And I suppose, the fact that he taught himself to play the piano like that never ceases to amaze me.

Oh dear, have I managed to inflate your already over-sized ego? Well.. One exception for your birhday, don't get used to it. ;p So anyway, since it's your birthday today, this entry is dedicated to you (well, a good one-third of it is anyway).

Happy birthday, you! I hope you had a great day. I hope you keep on doing the things you enjoy and looking out for the kids. (And take care in Thailand.) Cheers! :)

Love, Wan
6:34 pm//Tuesday, Mar. 21, 2006

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008