archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Love

Was watching the Oprah show this afternoon about battered women in america and I was struck by something she said- "Love isn't painful" were her exact words. I don't know which planet she lives on, but from the things I've seen, the relationship business hurts.

And why shouldn't it? You're only opening yourself to the possibility of being hurt by the actions of another. And because we're all human, the pain will come- cutting and biting, whether intended or not. Sometimes, I wonder why we willingly subject ourselves to such vulnerability. Myself included. I will even admit to moments, especially when I am hurting and I feel like I just want to curl up and die, that I ask myself why i couldn't just leave the whole bloody love thing be. It's not like I wasn't doing alright (well, even) before. Huh.

Although, I suppose love isn't always painful and hurting. In fact, it can be rather pleasant. In the words of Bryan, "more often than not, it gives you a purpose. Or a meaning to live". I can't argue with that. Perhaps that's what makes the whole notion of love so appealing to us, despite it's obvious shortcomings. Maybe it helps us plod on in hopes of finding that paradise and haven from the other atrocities associated with life.

It really is complicated, isn't it?

"Your life will not go unnoticed because I will notice it. Your life will not go un-witnessed because I will be your witness." -Beverly Clark (Susan Sarandon), Shall We Dance?

To You:
Yes, I remember what you said. And in response to that uncertainty you had when we were talking at City Hall MRT on tuesday night, the answer is a yes. This is assuming you still remember.

Love, Wan
3:44 pm//Thursday, Mar. 16, 2006

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008