archived Gbook The Design This Dweller Thank You
http://poledra.diaryland.com
Ramblings

Just went by Cherylyn's, Charlene's blogs where they wrote about their common tests and parent teacher meetings. It disturbs me that the education system totally diregards the self-esteems of society's youth. Is academic excellence really so important that it's worth sacrificing the mental and emotional well-being of it's students?

Or maybe it's just the upbringing of the individual. Perhaps the education ministry is not to be blamed. Perhaps it's because it's been drummed into us previously that academic success plays a big part in one's future and academic failure is the end of the road. What makes me say so, you ask? Well, after entering Ngee Ann Polytechnic, I've come to realise that what I used to think was a common sentiment is really not that common, at least not among NP students. In fact, too many students are content with mere passes. I suppose the lack of ambition is equally disturbing, if not more, simply because most people enter the course of their choice.

I suppose I really am glad that I got accepted into ECH. I shudder at the thought of having to prepare for another major nation-wide examination that funnily enough, has the ability decide whether one has wasted 2 whole years of their lives. Something which I would be doing if not for my decision to ditch the supposedly better choice. And to tell the truth, as much as I've been busy and stressed out over all my deadlines, I don't regret my decision at all because I know it could be worse. No, don't get me wrong, I'm not gloating. Simply reflecting.

But I digress, all I really wanted to say was that I doubt book smarts determines the success of one's future. Perhaps it plays a part, but I'm pretty certain it takes much more to succeed in life. Besides, I've always believed that academic success is not an accurate portrayal of how smart a person is. Howard Gardner's theory of Multiple Intelligences proves just that.

However, the feeling of failure does become worse in proportion with the level of expectation that precedes it.

Love, Wan
9:07 pm//Sunday, Apr. 03, 2005

the world | in retrospect

Oh, the Irony - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2009
Summery - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Wan Bakes Too! - Friday, Jan. 02, 2009
Trust - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Catharsis - Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008